tsts

USTA Midwest Section
1310 East 96th Street, Suite 100
Indianapolis, IN 46240
317-577-5130 (Phone)
317-577-5131 (Fax)

 

ADAPTIVE TENNIS

BuddyUp3-2

ABOUT MIDWEST ADAPTIVE TENNIS

Yes, there are lines on a court, but they aren't there to exclude anyone, regardless of disability. Adaptive Tennis recognizes four categories of differently-abled players:

  • Developmentally disabled (learning disabilities, autism, Down's Syndrome, mental retardation)
  • Physically disabled (birth defects, multiple sclerosis, traumatic brain injury, muscular dystrophy, etc.)
  • Consumers of mental health services (psychiatrically disabled, emotionally disturbed)
  • At risk/environmentally disabled (substance abusers, mentally and physically abused, homeless, HIV positive individuals, persons within the juvenile justice system, etc.)
For each of these groups, Adaptive Tennis supports the tennis programs, providing grant money, equipment and resources for specifically-tailored programs that provide fun, fitness and a positive social experience for participants. Regional clinics and instructional programs are held throughout the country, often in conjunction with agencies devoted to serving special populations within the respective communities.
 
For more information on programs taking place in your local area contact Brandon Smith, at 317-669-0456 or via e-mail at brandon@midwest.usta.com.
 
 

MIDWEST ADAPTIVE RESOURCES

MIDWEST ADAPTIVE PROGRAMS

 

ILLINOIS CONTACT EMAIL
Aceing Autism - Glenview, IL Muhil Arumugam muhilarus@gmail.com
Ada S. MicKinley Nelly Gamboa ngamboa@adasmckinley.org
Buddy Up Tennis - Plainfield, IL   Naperville@buddyuptennis.com
Buddy Up Tennis - NW Chicago Mary Beth Bowman nwchicago@buddyuptennis.com
Cornerstone Services Tiffany Rice   trice@cornerstoneservices.org
Evergreen Racquet - Bloomington, IL Colleen Curran colleen@erctennis.com
Glenview Tennis Club - Glenview, IL   muhilarus@gmail.com
Homewood-Flossmoor Racquet Club - Homewood, IL Cindy Heidkamp cheidkamp@hfparks.com
McKinley Park District - Chicago, IL Nelly Gamboa ngamboa@adammckinley.org
Orchard Village - Elgin, IL Allison Stark allison_stark@orchardvillage.org
Rush Autism Mike Lange mike.lange@rushcopley.com
Rush Copley Healthplex - Aurora, IL Mike Lange mike.lange@rushcopley.com
Southstar - Chicago Heights, IL Kara Pierce kpierce@southstar.org
Special Olympics at Shabbona - Chicago   play@chicagoparkdistrict.com
Special Olympics Chicago - Area 3 Jacquelin Kogut jkogut@soill.org
Special Opportunities Recreation Bloomington, IL Nicole Kohler nkohler@cityblm.org

 

INDIANA CONTACT EMAIL
Buddy Up Tennis - South Bend, IN   mailto:southbend@buddyuptennis.com
Duneland Adaptive Kathryn Ausema kathryh.ausema@gmail.com
Hamilton County Special Olympics Molly Fletchall mollyfletchal@yahoo.com
Tipton Lakes Athletic Club - Columbus, IN   npandita@hotmail.com

 

MICHIGAN CONTACT EMAIL
Bridgeport Parks & Recreation Adaptive Eric Rutherford erutherford@bridgeportmi.org
Buddy Up Tennis - Grand Rapids, MI   grandrapids@buddyuptennis.com
Grand Haven High School - Grand Haven, MI Bill Wheeler oppenlanderj@ghaps.org
Great Lakes  - Dearborn, MI    
Huron Valley - Ann Arbor, MI    
Mary Freebed Adaptive Tennis   sports@maryfreebed.com
MVP Athletic Club - Grand Rapids, MI Mary Free Bed Alicia.Hass@maryfreebed.com
MVP Holland Lynn Bender lynncurt10s@yahoo.com
University of Michigan - Ann Arbor, MI   bryand.wilkinson@gmail.com

 

OHIO CONTACT EMAIL
Acing Autism Rachel rachel@aceingautism.org
Buddy Up Tennis Beth Gibson beth@buddyuptennis.com
Buddy Up Tennis - Akron, OH   akron@buddyuptennis.com
Buddy Up Tennis - Cincinnati, OH   cincinnati@buddyuptennis.com
Buddy Up Tennis - Cleveland, OH   lorain@buddyuptennis.com
Buddy Up Tennis - Columbus, OH   columbus@buddyuptennis.com
Buddy Up Tennis - Dayton, OH   dayton@buddyuptennis.com
Buddy Up Tennis - Youngstown, OH   youngstown@buddyuptennis.com
No Limits Athletics - Lancaster, OH Rob Ishida  
Special Olympics of Hamilton County Janet Smith smithj@zoomtown.com
Superstar Tennis Adaptive - Lancaster, OH Rachel Berens  
Westwood Tennis Center - Lima, OH   westwoodtennisandfitness3101@gmail.com

 

WISCONSIN CONTACT EMAIL
River Tennis Club - Milwaukee, WI Jackie Egelhoff jackie@rivertennisclub.com
Special Olympics - Lakeland Area- Minocqua, WI   jatessiatore@gmail.com

 

Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
 
Newsletter Signup
USTA Shop
 
 
 
 
Close